This is a static copy of In the Rose Garden, which existed as the center of the western Utena fandom for years. Enjoy. :)

#1 | Back to Top01-06-2016 10:06:03 PM

Rocko52
Wakaba Wrangler

Best way to get/read the Utena manga?

Hey all! So in case you didn't know, I'm a bright-faced, new Utena-inductee! (I'm a noob who just watched the series & movie and fell in love lol) My craze for all things Utena stuff makes me reaaally want to read the Utena manga by Chiho Saito - both the 5 volume series and the 1 volume movie adaptation. Regardless of whether they're as good or whatever, I just reaaally want to read this manga lol.

So apparently Utena was one of Viz's earlier big propeties back in the early 2000s...the trouble is it looks like there hasn't been a new print run in over a decade. emot-gonk Although I can definitely stomach reading manga online, I'd rather buy it's official release because - I far prefer the feeling of reading something in my hands + I like the feeling the I've supported the industry in some way. However it looks like collecting these 6 volumes of the Utena manga will put me over $100 if I want them in good condition...which might be a bit much. I can get the Japanese volumes for substantially cheaper...but I can't read Japanese lol. emot-frown   

I've only looked into it a little bit, (like barely skimmed a google search and a few sites) but it seems a lot of manga databases/scan sites don't have Utena & if they do it looks like it's in pretty horrid quality.

So considering my options what would be the best way to read the manga side of RGU? Even if I don't love it as much as the show (who knows - I might!) I just can't get enough of this series. Are there any options I haven't considered? Is the Viz translation faithful to the original? Am I going to have to just man up and put down the $100+ for the series? lol

school-chef Tell me more experienced Utena-sempais! school-chef
               ^ Don't worry that's not a threat...school-devil