This is a static copy of In the Rose Garden, which existed as the center of the western Utena fandom for years. Enjoy. :)

#1 | Back to Top04-25-2008 10:02:16 PM

Mooshay
New Student

Not Lucky: Why Nanami is the Only Thing Stopping Keiko

So, I'm a n00b on this forum, and I'm relatively new to the whole Utena fandom, so I may be missing something already said elsewhere. From what I've been reading of all this great analysis of the series, though, I haven't seen anyone interpret Keiko's situation with Nanami and Touga quite the same way I have. There's a very good essay in the analysis section of the site on it, and I pretty much agree with the whole thing, but... well, I feel it didn't really mention the whole picture. So unless you really care about getting even more detailed into this whole thing with an idea that's kind of pointless, you may be a bit bored by my ramblings. You may be anyway. emot-tongue

(I just finished actually writing that out, and BOY is it long. I didn't mean to make it that way, sorry. You can still read it if you like.)

Everyone knows how Nanami and her henchgirls come together: they approach her at the junior high entrance ceremony to see if she wants to join their group and be friends. Of course, when they see that Touga is her older brother, they join her instead and are willing to do pretty much anything to stick around her.

It sounds like a great plan at first, especially to a couple of preteens (it's easy to forget how young everyone at Ohtori is with the way they draw them, but seriously. This is a JUNIOR HIGH entrance ceremony, they're maybe twelve at that time?): befriend the beloved little sister, and they can come into Touga's direct line of sight. They're the "chosen ones" with the opportunity to really get close to Touga, to get to talk to him without being faces in the sea of admirers, because his little sister is closer to him than anyone.