This is a static copy of In the Rose Garden, which existed as the center of the western Utena fandom for years. Enjoy. :)

#1 | Back to Top05-31-2012 02:35:54 AM

Scoluron
Rose Bride

"Sail!"--Of ships and possibilities

Hey guys.  I'm not an Utena expert (I've only watched anime and movie thrice), though I do love it.

I was wondering--and I'm sorry how open-ended this is--how you guys think a ship on water theme would fit into Utena?  I'm asking because I intend to write a fic/run a roleplaying game in which ships replace cars as a major thematic element in an AU of the Utena anime and movie (where specific people will eventually turn into ships).

As far as what already exists, the buildings of Ohtori in the movie move sort of like ships and Touga presumably drowns after Juri falls off her rowboat.  Is there anything else?

As to thematic ideas; Akio unerringly manning a sexy ship through night waters with a guest seems like an appropriate image (going suggestively down a canal, until he hits the open ocean and kicks it up a few notches).  A lake that acts as a moat surrounding a castle high on a rock might end up being a pertinent location.  Wind might be important, but that would depend on the types of ships utilized.  I would assume.

I know nothing of boats or sailing or whatnot, to be honest.  I appeal to you guys for help brainstorming! emot-dance

"Himemiya! I've misjudged you!" "My image of you is ruined."

#2 | Back to Top05-31-2012 12:05:01 PM

onsenmark
Spambane
Website

Re: "Sail!"--Of ships and possibilities

Suddenly, I have this image of SKU crossing over with One Piece.

Or Gokaiger. oooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooh. *_* etc-wankdude etc-wankdude etc-wankdude

watch me whine: onsenmark.livejournal.com

Saa, omae no tsumi o kazoero!

#3 | Back to Top05-31-2012 12:08:29 PM

gorgeousshutin
Bare Footman
Website

I'm pretty sure all vehicles that can get people from one place to the next can in fact fit in to the theme.