This is a static copy of In the Rose Garden, which existed as the center of the western Utena fandom for years. Enjoy. :)

#1 | Back to Top10-29-2006 11:46:04 AM

Razara
Marionette Mistress

Shiori: Pure Evil, Or Misunderstood?

This is a thread about Shiori, to discuss why you like her, or why you think she is the spawn of Satan.

In order to keep this thread a reasonable length, I was only able to write the most basic idea of why I think Shiori is the way she is. Since I’ve been aspiring to write an essay about her for several months now, if I had my way, I’d go through episode 17, tearing it up word for word, and pointing out every single symbol. Also, I should mention that this is not a thread about the movie. Originally, I hated Shiori just as much as the next person, all because I confused the movie with the series.

To many, Shiori is sadistic and evil, and that's all there is to it. We rarely get to see things from Shiori’s point of view, making it difficult to understand just what it is that makes her the way she is. We see their past through Juri’s eyes, and by the time that we hear her side of the story, the damage is done. My views on Shiori differ slightly from the way most people see her. For one thing, I believe that she suffers almost as much as Juri. While some people would probably kill to grow up with a best friend like Juri, I don’t think that their friendship was as glamorous as it sounds.