This is a static copy of In the Rose Garden, which existed as the center of the western Utena fandom for years. Enjoy. :)

#1 | Back to Top12-24-2006 10:43:52 PM

Emiemipoemi
Troublesome Insect

Musical Theater

We have any theater freaks out there? I work as a musical director and musician in my area so I've heard a LOT of musicals. I was wondering if anybody else loved theater as well! emot-biggrin

I'm a huge Stephen Sondheim fan, myself.

#2 | Back to Top12-24-2006 10:50:14 PM

Nessy
Sunlit Gardener (Prelude)
Website

Re: Musical Theater

Yes.

Of what I've seen, I like Guys and Dolls the best, I think. emot-dance A Chorus Line, also. I was more or less raised on musicals, my mother being a huge fan, so a lot of my childhood memories revolve around this or that soundtrack.

(And I admit to also being a huge Cats fan. emot-redface)

#3 | Back to Top12-24-2006 10:55:38 PM

Imaginary Bad Bug
Revolutionary
Website

Once upon a time in high school (a decade ago for me now emot-tongue ) I was in the pit orchestra (viola) for our junior and senior year musicals.  Fiddler on the Roof and Once Upon a Mattress respectively.

High school sucked except for those musicals.

The King and I (the cinematic version with Yul Brynner) is my favorite musical.

Last edited by Imaginary Bad Bug (12-24-2006 11:07:15 PM)

http://lh5.ggpht.com/_HERdW38xV_c/S5xZ2QVrIwI/AAAAAAAAApg/uNpckSbLgUw/s800/utenaban.jpg

#4 | Back to Top12-24-2006 11:40:46 PM

Razara
Marionette Mistress

I like musicals. My favorite is Evita... In 2004, I saw the movie version of it in my music class. I didn't like it at first, but I saw it again when my sister rented it, and now I have the entire thing memorized. Given the fact that it's nothing but singing, that's an entire 160 minutes of music. I usually end up getting a sore throat when I sing the entire thing. I recently saw the it in a theater, and absolutely loved it.