This is a static copy of In the Rose Garden, which existed as the center of the western Utena fandom for years. Enjoy. :)

#1 | Back to Top04-13-2007 12:59:45 AM

SleepDebtFairy
Revolutionary
Website

Job tips?

I hate living in Mississippi sometimes.

It's really hard to get a job. At least, I noticed it is compared to other states. Either that, or potential employers hate me because I look like I'm 13.

I'm trying to get my first job this summer and I'm 20, and I've been trying since last year. So has my sister, who is 18, since she was 16. I know I started late, and I have no experience, but that's no excuse for her not being hired. Most people here want you to be at least 18. \:

My sister just got a job at Subway a few days ago, and had her first day of training yesterday.. but.. they fired her today. Because she seemed too anxious/spazzy. Now, I'm a little confused. Isn't one day a little too much to make that kind of judgment? I know my sister, and she's usually very mellow. If she had more training I'm sure she would have gotten used to it.

It's also aggravating because I do technically have something to use as experience.. but I don't have the information for it. In high school, I was part of an art program, and I was selected to be in an "internship" (coughcoughtheywantedafreemural) to paint a mural at a coffee shop for my grade and something to slap on my portfolio/job applications. But, the manager of the coffee shop moved away recently after. My art teacher can reference how I worked on the mural, but I still have nothing to put under previous jobs or volunteer work.